An initiative of :
Food-Info.net> Ingredients Guide > Letter A
Ingredients guide : What is in our food ?
Welcome to the ingredient guide and food glossary of Food-Info.net. With this guide we would like to list all ingredients used in foods, to state their use and/or origin as well as the suitability for certain allergies, intolerances or religious groups. Whenever there is additional information available of Food-Info the appropriate link will be provided.
Not only ingredients will be listed on this list, but also other components that may be naturally present in foods, as well as general words that can be found on a food product label.
This list was started on February 28, 2008 and will be continuously updated. If you miss an ingredient or component in this list, please let us know and we will add the list.
For the E-numbers (additives) see the E-number section of the site (see menu above). All the E-numbers are listed in the tables below with their chemical/common name, but not listed under their E-number.
Whenever known we will add suitability of the ingredient for the most common allergies, intolerances or similar (nutritional) disorders. These data are an indication of use only, it is always possible that individual people react differently !
|Acesulfame K||A widely used artificial sweetener with E-number E950. Trade names are Sunett and Sweet One.||Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.|
|Acetic acid||A widely used acid, main component in vinegar. Used as a preservative, see the E-number list: E260|
|Acetylated di-starch adipate||A modified starch and thickening agent, see E1422|
|Acetylated di-starch glycerol||A modified starch and thickening agent, see1423|
|Acetylated di-starch phosphate||A modified starch and thickening agent, see E1414|
|Agar||A thickening agent and polysaccharide from seaweed, see E406||Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic, but may still contain other parts of the plant. All plants may cause allergic reactions.|
|Alginic acid||A thickening agent and polysaccharide from seaweed, see E400. Alginic acid salts are alginates and many are used as thickening agents, see E401 (sodium alginate), E402 (potassium alginate), E403 (ammonium alginate) and E404 (calcium alginate).||Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic, but may still contain other parts of the plant. All plants may cause allergic reactions.|
|Alkaline treated starch||A modified starch and thickening agent, see1402|
|Allura Red AC||An artificial red colour, see E129|
|Aluminium||A metal and used as a food colour, see E173|
|Aluminium ammonium sulphate||See the E-number list: E523|
|Aluminium calcium silicate||See the E-number list: E556|
|Aluminium potassium silicate||See the E-number list: E555|
|Aluminium sodium silicate||See the E-number list: E554|
|Aluminium sodium sulphate||See the E-number list: E521|
|Aluminium stearate||See the E-number list: 573|
|Aluminium sulphate||See the E-number list: E520|
|Amaranth||An artificial red colour, see E123|
|Amaranth grain||A type of grains and flour derived from seeds of different species of the genus Amaranthus (pigweed). The grains/seeds are used as an alternative for rice; the leaves can be eaten as a vegetable. Cultivated in Latin America and Asia. Not related to the synthetic food colour with the same name.||Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Suitable with gluten-intolerance. May be allergenic, as all plants may cause allergic reactions.|
|Amino acid||Amino acids are the building blocks of all proteins in our foods and in our body. Twenty different amino acids can be found in protein, see also here.|
|Ammonium alginate||A thickening agent, see alginic acid|
|Ammonium carbonate||See the E-number list: E503|
|Ammonium chloride||See the E-number list: 510|
|Ammonium ferric citrate||See the E-number list: 381|
|Ammonium glutamate||See the E-number list: E624|
|Ammonium hydroxide||See the E-number list: E527|
|Ammonium persulphate||See the E-number list: 923|
|Ammonium polyphosphates||See the E-number list: 545|
|Ammonium phosphatides||See the E-number list: E442|
|Ammonium stearate||See the E-number list: 571|
|Ammonium sulphate||See the E-number list: E517|
|Amylopectin||A polysaccharide, consisting of long branched chains of glucose molecules. One of the two main components in starch.|
|Amylose||A polysaccharide, consisting of long straight chains of glucose molecules. One of the two main components in starch.|
|Aneurine||Obsolete name for vitamin B1|
|Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin||A group of red colours, chemically carotenoids, derived from the plant Bixa orellana, see E160b|
|Anthocyanins||A group of plant pigments, mainly red to purple. Used as food colours. See for more information here.|
An antioxidant (anti-oxidant) is a compound that neutralises oxygen or oxygen derivatives. Oxygen causes loss of quality in foods, such as rancidity, loss of colour and taste. The most widely used antioxidant is ascorbic acid. As it is a class of additives, the individual products should be labelled by name and/or E-number.
|Argon||An inert gas, used in spray cans, see E938|
|Ascorbic acid||Vitamin C. Used in foods as a acidity regulator, but should be labelled as E300, unless added as a vitamin C supplement, when it should be listed as a normal ingrdient. Ascorbic acid salts are ascorbates and also used as acidity regulators, E301 (sodium ascorbate) and E302 (calcium ascorbate).||Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.|
|Aspartame||An artificial sweetenerl.See E951|
Aspergillus niger is a fungus forming black spores (niger=black). The fungus is easy to cultivate and thus used in the production of many enzymes, food ingredients (such as citric acid) and many pharmaceutical preparations. The fungus itself is harmless and is naturally present in the environment. The fungus plays a role in the normal rotting process of many fruits and vegetables.
|Azodicarbonamide||See the E-number list: E927a|
|Azorubine||See the E-number list: E122|