An initiative of :




Wageningen University





Sitekeuring.NET Award


Food-Info.net> Ingredients Guide > Letter M

Ingredients guide : What is in our food ?

Welcome to the ingredient guide and food glossary of Food-Info.net. With this guide we would like to list all ingredients used in foods, to state their use and/or origin as well as the suitability for certain allergies, intolerances or religious groups. Whenever there is additional information available of Food-Info the appropriate link will be provided.

Not only ingredients will be listed on this list, but also other components that may be naturally present in foods, as well as general words that can be found on a food product label.

This list was started on February 28, 2008 and will be continuously updated. If you miss an ingredient or component in this list, please let us know and we will add the list.

For the E-numbers (additives) see the E-number section of the site (see menu above). All the E-numbers are listed in the tables below with their chemical/common name, but not listed under their E-number.

Whenever known we will add suitability of the ingredient for the most common allergies, intolerances or similar (nutritional) disorders. These data are an indication of use only, it is always possible that individual people react differently !
Whenever in doubt, always consult your doctor or a skilled dietician !


Select the letter of the ingredient/compound that you are looking for:
A |B |C |D |E |F |G |H |I |J |K |L |M |N |O |P |Q |R |S |T |U |V |W |X|Y |Z |

 

Ingredient/Component Description Suitability (indication)
Magnesium carbonate See the E-number list: E504  
Magnesium chloride See the E-number list: E511  
Magnesium glutamate See the E-number list: E625  
Magnesium hydroxide See the E-number list: E528  
Magnesium orthophosphates See the E-number list: 343  
Magnesium oxide See the E-number list: E530  
Magnesium pyrophosphate See the E-number list: 546  
Magnesium silicate See the E-number list: E553  
Magnesium stearate See the E-number list: 572  
Magnesium sulphate See the E-number list: 518  
Malic acid See the E-number list: E296  
Malt sugar See maltose  
Maltitol See the E-number list: E965  
Maltodextrin A carbohydrate and degradation product of starch. It consists of short chains of glucose molecules. It has a light sweet taste. It is often used as a filling agent as the powder uses a lot of volume (low density).
Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic. Does not contain gluten.
Maltol See the E-number list: 636  
Maltose Maltose or malt sugar, is a disaccharide derived from starch and consists of two glucose molecules. Mainly found in beer. It has a slight sweet taste. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.
Mannitol A sweetener derived from mannose, see E421. A natural product, present in many plants. Commercially also used as a filling agent. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic
Matein(e)
A synonym for caffeine.

meta tartaric acid See the E-number list: E353  
Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate See the E-number list: E218  
Methyl cellulose See the E-number list: E461  
Methylethyl cellulose See the E-number list: E465  
Micro-crystalline wax See the E-number list: 907  
Milk sugar See lactose  
Millet
Millet is a (sub)tropical type of grain (Panicum miliaceum), related to barley.
Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Allergic reactions are possible, as all plants may cause allergic reactions. Not to be used with gluten intolerance.
Mixture of glycerol- and propyleneglycol esters of lactic acid and fatty acids See the E-number list: E478  
Molasses
Molasses are syrup-like products, more exactly waste products of sugar refining, see here. Basically a solution of sugar in water, with brown colours (caramels) and some salts. Used as a colour in for example brown sugar and as a substrate for fermentations.
Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic. Contains a lot of sugar, so not suitable for fructose-intolerance.
Mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids

Semi-synthetic fats, made of natural fatty acids and glycerol. Used as emulsifier. See also E471 and E472.

The fatty acids used in the production of these products may be of animal origin. See also here. Not allergenic.

Mono potassium glutamate See the E-number list: E622  
Mono sodium glutamate A flavour enhancer, the salt of the natural amino acid glutamic acid. For more information, see here. Also known as MSG, Sodium glutamate, glutamate, ve-tsin and ajinomoto. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.
Mono, di, and Tri- Calcium citrate See the E-number list: E333  
mono/di Sodium L-(+)- tartrate See the E-number list: E335  
monoPotassium L-(+)- tartrate See the E-number list: E336  
Monosaccharide Also known as simple sugars. The smallest class of carbohydrates. Examples are glucose, fructose and galactose. Generally quite sweet. Commercially of plant or bacterial origin. Most are suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. See the individual components for exceptions. Not allergenic.
mono-starch phosphate See the E-number list: E1410  
Montan acid esters See the E-number list: E912  

 



European Masters Degree in Food Studies - an Educational Journey


Master in Food Safety Law



Food-Info.net is an initiative of Wageningen University, The Netherlands