An initiative of :




Wageningen University





Sitekeuring.NET Award


Food-Info.net> Ingredients Guide > Letter V

Ingredients guide : What is in our food ?

Welcome to the ingredient guide and food glossary of Food-Info.net. With this guide we would like to list all ingredients used in foods, to state their use and/or origin as well as the suitability for certain allergies, intolerances or religious groups. Whenever there is additional information available of Food-Info the appropriate link will be provided.

Not only ingredients will be listed on this list, but also other components that may be naturally present in foods, as well as general words that can be found on a food product label.

This list was started on February 28, 2008 and will be continuously updated. If you miss an ingredient or component in this list, please let us know and we will add the list.

For the E-numbers (additives) see the E-number section of the site (see menu above). All the E-numbers are listed in the tables below with their chemical/common name, but not listed under their E-number.

Whenever known we will add suitability of the ingredient for the most common allergies, intolerances or similar (nutritional) disorders. These data are an indication of use only, it is always possible that individual people react differently !
Whenever in doubt, always consult your doctor or a skilled dietician !


Select the letter of the ingredient/compound that you are looking for:
A |B |C |D |E |F |G |H |I |J |K |L |M |N |O |P |Q |R |S |T |U |V |W |X|Y |Z |

 

Ingredient/Component Description Suitability (indication)
Ve-tsin
See MSG  
Violaxanthin See the E-number list: E161e  
Vitamin B1
Official name thiamin. May be listed as an ingredient only when it has been added in such an amount that the addition significantly contributes to the daily intake of vitamins. See also here. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.
Vitamin B2
Zie riboflavine.

Vitamin B3
Official name niacin. May be listed as an ingredient only when it has been added in such an amount that the addition significantly contributes to the daily intake of vitamins. See also here. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.
Vitamin B5
Official name pnathotenic acid. May be listed as an ingredient only when it has been added in such an amount that the addition significantly contributes to the daily intake of vitamins. See also here. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.
Vitamin B6
Official name pyridoxin. May be listed as an ingredient only when it has been added in such an amount that the addition significantly contributes to the daily intake of vitamins. See also here. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.
Vitamin B12
Official name cobalamin. May be listed as an ingredient only when it has been added in such an amount that the addition significantly contributes to the daily intake of vitamins. See also here. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians, but often not for vegans. Not allergenic. Is only present in animal products. As supplement commercially made by bacterial fermentation, but origin/production is hardly ever mentioned on the label.
Vitamin C
See ascorbic acid.

 



European Masters Degree in Food Studies - an Educational Journey


Master in Food Safety Law



Food-Info.net is an initiative of Wageningen University, The Netherlands