An initiative of :




Wageningen University





Sitekeuring.NET Award


Food-Info.net> Ingredients Guide > Letter G

Ingredients guide : What is in our food ?

Welcome to the ingredient guide and food glossary of Food-Info.net. With this guide we would like to list all ingredients used in foods, to state their use and/or origin as well as the suitability for certain allergies, intolerances or religious groups. Whenever there is additional information available of Food-Info the appropriate link will be provided.

Not only ingredients will be listed on this list, but also other components that may be naturally present in foods, as well as general words that can be found on a food product label.

This list was started on February 28, 2008 and will be continuously updated. If you miss an ingredient or component in this list, please let us know and we will add the list.

For the E-numbers (additives) see the E-number section of the site (see menu above). All the E-numbers are listed in the tables below with their chemical/common name, but not listed under their E-number.

Whenever known we will add suitability of the ingredient for the most common allergies, intolerances or similar (nutritional) disorders. These data are an indication of use only, it is always possible that individual people react differently !
Whenever in doubt, always consult your doctor or a skilled dietician !


Select the letter of the ingredient/compound that you are looking for:
A |B |C |D |E |F |G |H |I |J |K |L |M |N |O |P |Q |R |S |T |U |V |W |X|Y |Z |

 

Ingredient/Component Description Suitability (indication)
Gelatin

A gelling- or thickening agent. It forms a clear kneadable firm and bitable gel. Widely used in gellies, sauces and confectionary as well as pâtés. It is made from protein (collagens), obtained from animal bones. All animal species can be used, see also here. Used to have E-number 441, but should now be labelled by name.

Made from animal bones an dthus not suitable vor vegetarians and vegans. Some gelatins may be acceptable for Muslims and Jews, see here. Allergy against gelatin has been described, but is very rare.

Gelating agent See thickening agent  
Gellan gum A thickening agent, see E418  
Gelling agent See thickening agent  
Gluconic acid See the E-number list: E574  
Glucono-1, 5-lactone See the E-number list: E575  
Glucose Also known as dextrose. A sweet small sugar, monosaccharide. Part of normal sugar (saccharose, sucrose) and many other carbohydrates. Used as sweetener and filling agent. Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.Provides a lot of energy, so not suitable for hyperactive children.
Glucose sirup

A solution of glucose in water. Is often used as a sirup is more easily applicable as glucose powder.

Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Not allergenic.Provides a lot of energy, so not suitable for hyperactive children.
Glutamate
See MSG  
Glutamic acid A natural amino acid, used as a flavour enhancer. Has E-number E620, see also here.  
Glutamine A natural amino acid, a different amino acid as glutamic acid (glutamate) and has no use as additive in foods.  
Gluten, Glutenpowder

Gluten is the name of a group of proteins from grains. See also here. Gluten are important for the structure of bread. Gluten form an elastic network in the dough, which traps the gas bubbles. This makes the dough rise and determines the structure. During the baking process the network is fixed and becomes solid. Glutenpowder is often added to bread with low gluten content (such as corn/maize bread), to enhance the bread structure. These gluten are derived from wheat.


Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. Allergies towards gluten and wheat exist, but gluten intolerance (celiac disease) is far more common.

Glycerol See the E-number list: E422  
Glycerol diacetate See the E-number list: 1517  
Glycerol monoacetate See the E-number list: 1516  
Glycerol triacetate See the E-number list: E1518  
Glycine and sodium glycinate A natural amino acid, used as a bread enhancer and nutrient, see E640.  
Gold A natural element and metal, used as a surface colour, see E175  
Green S An artificial colour, see E142  
Guaiac Gum See the E-number list: 314  
Guanylic acid See the E-number list: E626  
Guar gum, Guar flour
A thickening agent from the tropical tree Cyamopsis tetragonolobus, see also E412. The seeds can be milled to a flour, which can also be used as a thickening agent.
Suitable for all religions, vegetarians and vegans. The gum is not allergenic. Allergenic reactions may occur towards the flour or impurities in the gum, as all plants may cause allergic reactions.
Guaranine
A synonym for caffeine.

Gum Arabic See the E-number list: E414  
Gum benzoic See the E-number list: 906  

 



European Masters Degree in Food Studies - an Educational Journey


Master in Food Safety Law



Food-Info.net is an initiative of Wageningen University, The Netherlands