An initiative of :

Stichting Food-Info> E-numbers > E600-700

E640 : Glycines

E640 (i) Glycine
E640(ii) Sodiumglycinate

Glycine is a natural amino acid, a building block of protein. Mainly produced from gelatin, partly synthetic.

Function & Characteristics:
It is a nutrient, mainly for yeast in bread. Also used as a bread enhancer.

Bakery products.

Acceptable daily intake (ADI):
None determined

Side effects:
None known

Dietary restrictions:
Glycine is produced mainly from gelatin, which is derived from animal bones. It is therefore not suitable for vegans, vegetarians and, as long as the origin is not known, not for Jews, Muslims and Hindus. Only the producer can provide the origin of the product. is an initiative of Stichting Food-Info, The Netherlands

Free counters!