An initiative of :

Stichting Food-Info> E-numbers > E500-600

E570 : Stearic acid

A normal part of any fat. Commercially prepared from cottonseed oil, but animal origin can not be excluded.

Function & Characteristics:
Used as anti-caking agent and plasticizer in chewing gum. Also used in flavours.

Chewing gum, butter aroma/flavour, bakery products. Also used in cosmetics and pharmaceutical preparations.

Acceptable daily intake (ADI):
None determined

Side effects:
None known

Dietary restrictions:
Although stearic acid and stearates are commercially obtained from plant sources, the use of animal fat (including pork and beef) can not be excluded. Only the producer can provide information on the origin. The use by vegans, vegetarians, Muslims, Jews and Hindus thus is not recommended. is an initiative of Stichting Food-Info, The Netherlands

Free counters!