An initiative of :

Stichting Food-Info> E-numbers > E400-500

E 483: Stearyl tartrate

Combination of stearic acid and tartaric acid, resulting in a mixture of several components. The origin of stearic acid can be or plant or animal fat, although in practice nearly always vegetable oil will be used.

Function & characteristics:
Emulsifier and stabiliser

Bakery products

Acceptable Daily Intake:
Up to 20 mg/kg bodyweight

Side effects:
None, both tartaric and stearic acid are normal products in human metabolism.

Dietary restrictions:
Although mainly vegetable oils are used, the use of animal fat (incl. pork) can not be excluded. Several groups, such as vegans, Muslims and Jews thus avoid these products. Only the producer can give detailed information on the origin of the fatty acids. Chemically the fatty acids from vegetable or animal origin are identical. is an initiative of Stichting Food-Info, The Netherlands

Free counters!