An initiative of :




Wageningen University





Sitekeuring.NET Award


Food-Info.net> E-numbers > E400-500

441 Gelatin

Previously named 485

Origin:
Obtained from animal by-products, such as bones and hides. It can be produced from all species of animals.

Function & characteristics:
Thickening and gelling agent

Products:
Many different products

Acceptable Daily Intake:
None determined

Side effects:
None known when used in foods

Dietary restrictions:
441 can not be used by vegans and vegetarians. Use by religious groups, such as Muslims and Jews is restricted, due to the origin of the product. Unfortunately information on origin can only be obtained from the producer. Specific halal gelatin is made from cattle.

 



European Masters Degree in Food Studies - an Educational Journey


Master in Food Safety Law



Food-Info.net is an initiative of Wageningen University, The Netherlands