Food-Info.net> E-numbers > E200-300
E262: Sodium acetate
E262(i) sodium acetate, E262(ii) sodium diacetate (a mixture of sodium acetate and acetic acid)
Sodium salt of acetic acid, an natural acid, present in most fruits. Produced by bacterial fermentation and thus present in all fermented products. Commercially produced by bacterial fermentation of sugar, molasses or alcohol or by chemical synthesis from acetealdehyde.
Function & characteristics:
Acetates are used as preservatives and buffers.
Many different products
up to 15 mg/kg body weight
Side effects :
No side effects, acetates are a normal component of all body cells. Should only be avoided by people who have a (very rare) vinegar intolerance.
Dietary restrictions :
None, acetic acid and acetates can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians. Although the acid may be produced from alcohol, it does not contain any alcohol.