An initiative of :

Stichting Food-Info> E-numbers > E200-300

E261: Potassium acetate

Potassium salt of acetic acid, an natural acid, present in most fruits. Produced by bacterial fermentation and thus present in all fermented products. Commercially produced by bacterial fermentation of sugar, molasses or alcohol or by chemical synthesis from acetealdehyde.

Function & characteristics:
Acetates are used as preservatives and buffers.

Many different products

Daily intake:
no limit.

Side effects :
No side effects, acetates are a normal component of all body cells. Should only be avoided by people who have a (very rare) vinegar intolerance.

Dietary restrictions :
None, acetic acid and acetates can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians. Although the acid may be produced from alcohol, it does not contain any alcohol. is an initiative of Stichting Food-Info, The Netherlands

Free counters!